IDIA Football League 2015

IDIA organized the second season of IDIA Football League (IFL) from September 5-6, 2015 at Kamla Mills Ground, Lower Parel, Mumbai. IFL is a new concept in sports charity. IDIA accepts an entry fee from each participant team and the same is used for funding the legal education of IDIA scholars who belong to various underprivileged and marginalised communities. Participants lauded this novel concept of IFL and  the spirit of the league.

The 2015 event was sponsored by Vahura (title sponsor), Sporting Easy (sports partner) and Tilt All Day (hospitality partner).

IFL 2015 witnessed participation from 19 top law firms and legal departments of corporates, including AZB & Partners, J Sagar Associates, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas, Fortitude law Associates, Economic Law Practices, Lakshmikumaran Sridharan, Juris Corp, Khaitan & Co., Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas, Bharucha and Partners, Desai Diwanji, WadiaGhandy, Platinum, K Law, Vahura, Trilegal, Star TV and Mahindra & Mahindra.

The first day of the event saw each team playing 4 league matches, which amounted to 40 matches in total. The results of league matches helped segregate the teams into two categories- ‘Cup’ and ‘Plate’.

IFL 2015

In the Knock-out matches on the second day, StarTV lifted the ‘Cup Winners Trophy’ playing against Trilegal who claimed the Runners-up. Khaitan& Co. won the ‘Plate Winners Trophy’ defeating Cyril AmarchandMangaldas in the finals.

Mr. Srinivasan (Star TV) was adjudged the ‘Best Goalkeeper of IFL 2015’ and Mr. Animesh Bisht (Cyril AmarchandMangaldas) was awarded the ‘Highest Scorer IFL 2015’ award.

The Fair Play Trophy was bagged by Fortitude Law Associates.

In spirit of “work hard, party harder” maxim, the event ended with an after-party which was aptly named “IFL Night”. IFL night witnessed all the participants, IDIA leaders and members  enjoying to the full. The winners of IFL 2015 were felicitated with loud cheers during the IFL Night. The IFL Night was graced by the presence of Mr. Pramod Rao, Mrs. Sweta Rao, Mr. Murli Neelakantan and Mr. Ritvik Lukose, and by many other renowned personlities from the legal fraternity. Listening to the experiences of IDIA scholars during the party further inspired many of the guests to commit to the cause behind the IDIA Football League.